Call Us

Professional online qualifications for a better future
London +44(0)208 146 5680    |    Lincolnshire +44(0)1472 240112 
Call Us

City & Guilds RQF (NVQ) Level 5 Diploma in Health and Social Care (Adults)

Adults Pathway Diploma

The Level 5 Leadership and Management in Health and Social Care qualification replaced the Level 4 NVQ in Leadership and Management for Care Services and the City & Guilds RQF Level 4 NVQ in Health and Social Care.

The level 5 Health and Social Care distance learning course is for people who work within the Health and Social Care sector, either as managers or as senior practitioners including assistants and deputy managers. If you're looking to gain a Diploma in Health and Social Care then this level 5 course is the one for you.

This can be used towards your CQC application.

This is recognised by regulatory bodies such as the CQC as a requirement for anyone looking to take on a Registered Manager position, which otherwise requires a Registered Managers Award.

There are various pathways available for this qualification which act as a level 5 Diploma in Health and Social Care:


  • 4978-54 Adults Residential Management (England) 
  • 4978-55 Adults Management (England)                        
  • 4978-56 Adults Advanced Practice (England)             

This Level 5 Diploma in Leadership for Health and Social Care Distance Learning qualification allows you to develop your managerial and care skills and is therefore ideal for those looking to become managers of Adult Care, Residential and Domiciliary services or to be an Advanced Practitioner.

This includes the following services:

  • Day services
  • Respite care and services
  • Community care services

If you work in one of the following job roles this qualification would be suitable for you:-

  • Registered Manager
  • Care Manager/Social Worker
  • Manager
  • Assistant or Deputy Manager
  • Senior Care worker or supervisor
  • Nursing staff
  • Support worker or supervisor
  • Team Leader
  • Co-ordinator

Diploma Course Structure

The level 5 Diploma in Management and Leadership in Health and Social care provides you with guidance and assesses your knowledge, understanding and skills in Leadership and Management within the Health and Social care sector. The level 5 Health and Social care NVQ meets the required regulatory requirements for this sector and can demonstrate Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

To gain the level 5 Leadership and Management in Health and Social care qualification you will have a range of mandatory units and some optional units to choose from.


The cost of the course is £1145.00+VAT plus an observation fee subject to location. Interest-free payment plans are available with no credit checks. An obsevation fee is also payable. Use code PIF10 for 10% off when you pay in full. 


This is a competency-based qualification and evidence is gathered by the candidate as they undertake their normal work role. This will form the basis for their portfolio. The evidence must reflect policies and procedures of the workplace as stated by current government legislation.

During the course of the qualification, the candidate should ideally work with at least two service users.

A range of assessment methods will be used by the assessor including examining work products, expert witness testimonies and direct observation. An assessor will visit you in the workplace at some point and undertake observations of you at work. These will be planned in advance in order to cause minimum disruption to your work routine and to try to capture as much information as possible in one visit.

Knowledge-based units will be assessed using a range of methods including reflective accounts, projects, assignments, assessor questions and professional discussions.

Candidates will have full access to assessor support via telephone, email, Skype and web links.


This NVQ Health and Social Care qualification is usually completed within 6 months. You will have full uncapped support for 12 months



Entry requirements

There is no set entry requirement for this qualification. However, the qualification is only available to candidates 19 years and older.

What is RQF?

The Qualifications and Credit Framework (RCF Regulated Qualification Framework) is the way of recognising achievement through the awarding of credits for qualifications and individual units and applies to England

It aims to provide a more flexible route to gaining qualifications and enables progression to be achieved in smaller steps through the accumulation of credit.

CQC Requirements

The Level 5 Diploma in Leadership for Health and Social Care is recognised as a professional Management qualification for the Health and Social care sector. 

Memberships (upon application)

  • Institute of Leadership and Management (ILM)
  • Chartered Management Institute (CMI)
  • Social Care Association
  • Royal College of Nursing

Please add to the shopping cart and an SVT course advisor will contact you within 24 hours to discuss your purchase further.

Need more information about our payment options? Call us on +44(0)1472 240112 or London +44(0)20 8146 5680 and speak with one of our professional advisors or email



Find Out More about City & Guilds RQF (NVQ) Level 5 Diploma in Health and Social Care (Adults)